

DIGITALEUROPE calls for a moderate & future-proof implementation of AVMS-D

Brussels, 2 October 2018

Today the Audiovisual Media Services Directive (AVMS-D) has been adopted by the European Parliament. This is an important piece of legislation for Europe's Digital Single Market as it aims to achieve a moderate and future-proof framework for access to audiovisual content.

"DIGITALEUROPE's vision is that the European user is put at the centre of the audiovisual media experience. As the means and platforms of delivery have changed in the digital era, users expect and enjoy a greater level of control to when, how and where they access content. The availability and diversity of media services have never been greater than they are today", said Cecilia Bonefeld-Dahl, Director-General of DIGITALEUROPE.

"We call on Member States to sustain flexibility for all market actors of the media value chain. A moderate approach, where Member States avoid overly prescriptive provisions and leave room for innovation, would make it easier for service providers and consumers to adapt to an increasingly diverse, dynamic and vibrant European market", she added.

Consequently, DIGITALEUROPE calls on the EU Member States to ensure that this principle is put into practice, with an implementation that leaves room for innovation in the market and a dynamic user experience, while avoiding at the same time fragmentation in Europe.

For instance, when it comes to search and access tools, it is in everyone's interest that these remain userfriendly and efficient, and there is no need for an "appropriate prominence" as suggested by the AVMS-D.

DIGITALEUROPE looks forward to working closely with the European Regulators Group for Audiovisual Media Services (ERGA) and all Member States to achieve an innovation-friendly implementation on the national level that favours media diversity for services and devices in Europe.

For more information please contact:

Jochen Mistiaen, Senior Policy Manager +32.496.20.54.11 or jochen.mistaen@digitaleurope.org

Lionel Sola, DIGITALEUROPE's Director of Communications & Political Outreach +32.492.25.84.32 or lionel.sola@digitaleurope.org



ABOUT DIGITALEUROPE

DIGITALEUROPE represents the digital technology industry in Europe. Our members include some of the world's largest IT, telecoms and consumer electronics companies and national associations from every part of Europe. DIGITALEUROPE wants European businesses and citizens to benefit fully from digital technologies and for Europe to grow, attract and sustain the world's best digital technology companies. DIGITALEUROPE ensures industry participation in the development and implementation of EU policies.

DIGITALEUROPE's members include in total over 35,000 ICT Companies in Europe represented by 63 Corporate Members and 39 National Trade Associations from across Europe. Our website provides further information on our recent news and activities: <u>http://www.digitaleurope.org</u>

DIGITALEUROPE MEMBERSHIP

Corporate Members

Adobe, Airbus, Amazon, AMD, Apple, Arçelik, Bosch, Bose, Brother, Canon, Cisco, Dell, Dropbox, Epson, Ericsson, Fujitsu, Google, Hewlett Packard Enterprise, Hitachi, HP Inc., Huawei, IBM, Intel, JVC Kenwood Group, Konica Minolta, Kyocera, Lenovo, Lexmark, LG Electronics, Loewe, MasterCard, Microsoft, Mitsubishi Electric Europe, Motorola Solutions, MSD Europe Inc., NEC, Nokia, Nvidia Ltd., Océ, Oki, Oracle, Panasonic Europe, Philips, Pioneer, Qualcomm, Ricoh Europe PLC, Rockwell Automation, Samsung, SAP, SAS, Schneider Electric, Sharp Electronics, Siemens, Sony, Swatch Group, Tata Consultancy Services, Technicolor, Texas Instruments, Toshiba, TP Vision, VMware, Western Digital, Xerox, Zebra Technologies.

National Trade Associations

Austria: IOÖ Belarus: INFOPARK Belgium: AGORIA Bulgaria: BAIT Croatia: Croatian Chamber of Economy Cyprus: CITEA Denmark: DI Digital, IT-BRANCHEN Estonia: ITL Finland: TIF France: AFNUM, Syntec Numérique, Tech in France Germany: BITKOM, ZVEI Greece: SEPE Hungary: IVSZ Ireland: TECHNOLOGY IRELAND Italy: Anitec-Assinform Lithuania: INFOBALT Luxembourg: APSI Netherlands: Nederland ICT, FIAR Poland: KIGEIT, PIIT, ZIPSEE Portugal: AGEFE Romania: ANIS, APDETIC Slovakia: ITAS Slovenia: GZS Spain: AMETIC Sweden: Foreningen Teknikföretagen i Sverige, IT&Telekomföretagen Switzerland: SWICO Turkey: Digital Turkey Platform, ECID Ukraine: IT UKRAINE United Kingdom: techUK